Who Pays Closing Costs in Tucson, Buyer or Seller?
Both sides pay closing costs in Arizona. Here is which items the buyer customarily covers, which the seller covers, and how concessions work in Tucson.
Both the buyer and the seller pay closing costs in Arizona, and each side is responsible for a different set of fees. Buyers typically carry the loan side, including loan origination fees, the appraisal, escrow fees, title insurance, and property taxes, while sellers typically carry title and closing service fees, the owner's title insurance policy, and recording fees. Who pays what is negotiable in every contract, and in a Tucson market running 3.64 months of supply with homes selling at 98.4% of asking price as of July 2026, that negotiation is a live one.
Closing costs are the fees charged by lenders, escrow and title companies, and the county to move a property from one owner to the next. They are separate from the purchase price. Some are paid before closing and others at the closing table, and in Arizona they are typically settled on the day of closing, also called settlement day, when the buyer brings the funds covering their portion.
The buyer customarily pays the loan and escrow side
Buyers in Arizona are typically responsible for loan origination fees, appraisal costs, title insurance, escrow fees, property taxes, and recording fees, among other items. Buyer closing costs also include other lender fees, private mortgage insurance, the down payment, and a home inspection fee.
Recording fees are charged by the county for processing the deed and mortgage. In Pima County, recording fees are established by A.R.S. §11-475(A)(3). Arizona's established flat recording fees include a $2 fee for recording a deed or contract related to the sale or transfer of real property, and a county Board of Supervisors may assess a $4 special recording surcharge under A.R.S. §11-475.01.
Survey fees are rare in Arizona but may be requested in certain cases.
The seller customarily pays title, closing service, and recording items
Typical seller closing costs in Arizona include the title and closing service fees, the owner's title insurance policy, and recording fees. They may also include buyer incentives, a prorated property tax bill, and attorney fees. The owner's title insurance policy is often paid by the seller in Arizona.
Arizona does not have a statewide transfer tax, though some counties or cities may charge local transaction fees.
Every Arizona deed that transfers ownership must be accompanied by an Affidavit of Property Value stating the sale price or an exemption code, as required by state law, and Pima County staff will not accept a deed without it. The affidavit of property value form is obtained from the Arizona Department of Revenue. Arizona Revised Statutes 33-401 requires deeds to be in writing, signed by the grantor, and notarized. Pima County follows the statewide recording statute at A.R.S. §11-461, under which the County Recorder must record any document that meets format rules and is accompanied by the proper fee, with staff checking format rather than content.
The Pima County Recorder accepts Visa, MasterCard, cash, checks, or money orders payable to Pima County Recorder. Credit cards are accepted only for in-person transactions, checks must be pre-printed with the payer's name, and checks or money orders must be dated within 60 days of receipt.
Every allocation in the contract is negotiable
Who pays which closing costs in Arizona is negotiable and can differ by deal. A seller can pay some of the buyer's closing costs, offer repair credits, or include items in the sale as buyer incentives. It is common in Arizona for sellers to contribute toward closing costs paid by buyers, with sellers frequently covering title insurance and sometimes a portion of the escrow fee.
The Tucson numbers tell you how much room there is to ask. Tucson had 3.64 months of supply in July 2026, which is how long it would take to sell every home currently listed at the current pace; six months is generally considered balanced. Homes sold at 98.4% of asking price in Tucson in July 2026, and the median sold price was $355,000. Median days on market, the median time from listing to going under contract, was 56 in July 2026. In a market selling at 98.4% of asking price, treat a concession request as part of your price negotiation rather than as a separate free ask.
Submarket conditions differ from the citywide figures. In the Catalina Foothills, homes sold at 96.5% of asking price with 68 days on market as of June 30, 2026. Oro Valley ran 51 days to pending as of June 30, 2026, and Marana ran 50 days to pending as of June 30, 2026. In a buyer's market, sellers struggle to persuade buyers to take on additional costs beyond the purchase price.
Loan program rules cap what a seller can contribute
Interested party contributions are contributions made by third parties with a vested interest in the transaction that cover costs typically required to be paid by the buyer. Interested parties to a transaction include the seller, the originating lender, an employer, a municipality, a nonprofit organization, or a related person affiliated with those parties.
On FHA loans, HUD states that interested parties, meaning sellers, real estate agents, builders, developers, mortgagees, third party originators, or others with an interest in the transaction, may contribute up to six percent of the sales price toward the borrower's origination fees, other closing costs including items paid outside closing, prepaid items, and discount points. That six percent limit also includes payment for permanent and temporary interest rate buydowns and payments of mortgage interest on fixed-rate mortgages. Under HUD Handbook guidance, contributions from sellers or other interested third parties that exceed six percent of the sales price are treated as inducements to purchase and reduce the mortgage amount, with each dollar over the six percent limit subtracted from the sale price before the loan-to-value ratio is applied.
On conventional loans, Fannie Mae treats typical fees or closing costs paid by a seller in accordance with local custom, known as common and customary fees or costs, as not subject to its maximum financing concessions. Financing concessions above the limits are considered sales concessions and must be deducted from the sales price, with maximum LTV and CLTV ratios recalculated on the reduced price or appraised value. Financing concessions must be equal to or less than the sum of the borrower's closing costs. Interested party contributions can be used for costs that are typically the buyer's responsibility but cannot be used for the down payment, financial reserves, or the minimum borrower contribution. Both Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac place limits on interested party contributions using the same occupancy and loan-to-value table.
If an interested party pays for a rate buydown, the cost must be included in the interested party contribution calculation, and the lender must confirm it does not exceed the allowed financing concessions. On May 7, 2025, Fannie Mae issued Selling Guide Announcement SEL-2025-03, which updated interested party contribution definitions, identified items excluded from maximum financing concessions, and clarified treatment of realtor rebates.
VA loans split seller-paid items into standard closing costs and concessions, and there is no VA-imposed limit on how much a seller can pay toward the buyer's standard closing costs.
Concessions have to be disclosed on the settlement statement
Mortgages with interested party contributions that are not disclosed on the settlement statement are not eligible for sale to Fannie Mae. All concessions must appear on the settlement statement so HUD can verify compliance. The lender and closing agent review the purchase contract, loan disclosures, and settlement statement to confirm credits are classified correctly.
The classification matters. Some seller-paid items are customary seller costs rather than buyer concessions, and seller concessions generally do not include costs the seller normally pays in that market. That distinction is exactly why Fannie Mae's common and customary treatment sits outside the maximum financing concession limits.
How to check the Closing Disclosure against what you agreed
By law, a buyer must receive the Closing Disclosure at least three business days before closing, according to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. A creditor must ensure the consumer receives an initial Closing Disclosure no later than three business days before consummation under 12 CFR § 1026.19(f)(1)(ii)(A). Under the CFPB's final rule, creditors may use settlement agents to provide the Closing Disclosure as long as those agents comply with the rule's requirements.
The CFPB advises reviewing the Closing Disclosure carefully to confirm the loan terms, signing only after comparing it to the Loan Estimate, checking for errors and understanding any fee increases, and doing that review before the closing appointment. The CFPB notes that lenders must provide the Closing Disclosure three business days before the scheduled closing and that these days are the time to resolve problems and ask why anything looks different than expected. The CFPB also states there is no time limit at closing, so buyers should not feel pressured.
Not every change restarts the clock. Only three types of changes require a corrected Closing Disclosure at least three business days before consummation: an APR that becomes inaccurate, a change in the disclosed loan product, or the addition of a prepayment penalty. For all other changes, a corrected Closing Disclosure at or before consummation is sufficient.
For reverse mortgages, a borrower receives a Good Faith Estimate and a HUD-1 or HUD-1A Settlement Statement. Lenders need not send these in advance, but a requested HUD-1 may be reviewed at least one business day before closing, according to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
Several checks are worth making in those three days. Confirm the seller credit you negotiated appears as a credit in your column. Confirm the items you agreed the seller would pay, such as the owner's title insurance policy, are charged to the seller and not to you. Confirm the recording fees and the county charges line up with what the contract said.
What the data does not break out
Closing cost allocation is a matter of contract and loan program rule, and the Tucson market figures published for July 2026 cover the market as a whole. Median sold price of $355,000, 98.4% of asking price, 56 days on market, and 3.64 months of supply are citywide figures for single family homes plus condos, townhomes, and apartments in July 2026. They are not broken out by price band, by who paid which fee, or by how often a seller credit appeared in a transaction. Typical dollar amounts for closing costs in Pima County are not published in that data.
The Bottom Line
In Arizona, the buyer pays the loan and escrow side, the seller pays title, closing service, and recording items, and the split is negotiable in every contract. The limits on how far that negotiation can go come from the loan program: six percent of the sales price on FHA per HUD, a Fannie Mae table for conventional loans, and no VA-imposed cap on standard closing costs. Tucson at 3.64 months of supply and 98.4% of asking price in July 2026 is the backdrop for any concession request, and the Catalina Foothills at 96.5% of asking price and 68 days on market as of June 30, 2026 reads differently from the citywide numbers. If you are buying or selling in Tucson or the Catalina Foothills and want the allocation modeled before you sign, reach out and we will walk through your contract line by line.
Written by Cristhian Macias, part of the Kristan Cole Network team.
Sources
Pages read on September 14, 2026.
- Recording Fees: Pima County Recorder's Office
- county recorder; recording fees (azleg.gov)
- Fannie Mae: Interested Party Contributions (IPCs)
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: When do I get a Closing Disclosure?
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: What should I do if I do not get a Closing Disclosure three days before my mortgage closing?
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau: Closing disclosure explainer
FAQ
Does the buyer or the seller pay closing costs in Arizona?
Both pay, and each is responsible for different fees. Buyers are typically responsible for loan origination fees, appraisal costs, title insurance, escrow fees, and property taxes, among other items. Sellers typically pay the title and closing service fees, the owner's title insurance policy, and recording fees, and may also cover buyer incentives, a prorated property tax bill, and attorney fees.
Can I ask the seller to pay my closing costs in Tucson?
Yes. Who pays which closing costs in Arizona is negotiable and can differ by deal, and a seller can pay some of the buyer's closing costs, offer repair credits, or include items in the sale as buyer incentives. In Tucson, homes sold at 98.4% of asking price in July 2026 with 3.64 months of supply, so treat a concession request as part of the overall price negotiation.
How much can a seller contribute toward my closing costs?
It depends on your loan. HUD allows interested parties, including sellers, to contribute up to six percent of the sales price toward the borrower's origination fees, other closing costs, prepaid items, and discount points on FHA loans, and that six percent also covers permanent and temporary rate buydowns. Fannie Mae limits financing concessions on conventional loans to no more than the sum of the borrower's closing costs, and VA loans have no VA-imposed limit on how much a seller can pay toward the buyer's standard closing costs.
Is there a transfer tax when I sell a home in Arizona?
Arizona does not have a statewide transfer tax, though some counties or cities may charge local transaction fees. Arizona's established flat recording fees include a $2 fee for recording a deed or contract related to the sale or transfer of real property, and a county Board of Supervisors may assess a $4 special recording surcharge under A.R.S. §11-475.01. In Pima County, recording fees are established by A.R.S. §11-475(A)(3).
When do I get the Closing Disclosure and what should I check?
By law, a buyer must receive the Closing Disclosure at least three business days before closing, according to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The CFPB advises comparing it to your Loan Estimate, checking for errors, and understanding any fee increases before the closing appointment. Confirm that any seller credit you negotiated appears in your column and that the items you agreed the seller would pay are charged to the seller.
Does a seller credit have to be written down anywhere?
Yes. Mortgages with interested party contributions that are not disclosed on the settlement statement are not eligible for sale to Fannie Mae, and all concessions must appear on the settlement statement so HUD can verify compliance. The lender and closing agent review the purchase contract, loan disclosures, and settlement statement to confirm the credits are classified correctly.