What Should I Know About Buying in a 55+ Community in the West Valley?
Age rules, HOA fees, resale, and rental limits for 55+ buyers in Surprise and the West Valley, with Sun City Grand at 217 active listings in May 2026.
Buying in a 55+ active adult community in the West Valley means buying into a legal age restriction, a set of recorded community rules, and a smaller buyer pool on the day you resell. The federal definition of housing for older persons is a four-part test: the housing is intended and operated for older persons, 80 percent of occupied units are actually occupied by at least one person 55 or older, the community has policies and procedures demonstrating that intent, and the community complies with HUD rules. In Surprise, the largest age-restricted neighborhood in my coverage area reported 217 active listings, a $439,450 median listing price, a $405,000 median sold price, 71 days on market, and a 97% sale-to-list ratio in May 2026, so the pricing conversation in an age-restricted community looks different from the one across the rest of the city.
What an age-restricted community actually is
A 55+ active adult community is a housing facility or community that qualifies for an exemption from the Fair Housing Act's familial status protections by operating as housing for older persons. The Library of Congress records the four-part test for that definition: intended and operated for older persons, 80 percent of occupied units occupied by at least one person 55 or older, policies and procedures that demonstrate the intent, and compliance with HUD rules.
An occupied unit includes a temporarily vacant unit when the primary occupant lived there during the past year and intends to return on a periodic basis. That matters for snowbird ownership, which is common across the West Valley.
How the age rule is enforced and what changes when your household changes
Enforcement runs on documentation, not on assumption. Reliable age documentation includes a driver's license, birth certificate, passport, immigration card, military identification, another official document showing a birth date, or a signed certification by a household member age 18 or older that at least one person in the unit is 55 or older. For a veteran buyer, military identification is already reliable proof.
The community re-verifies on a schedule. HOPA requires a housing facility or community to re-survey its lists of residents every two years to ensure the 80 percent requirement is met, according to the City of Hesperia's published HOPA questions and answers. Federal regulation at 24 CFR 100.307 contemplates a verification policy under which the association acquires records of residents' ages at purchase, verifies ages every two years by survey, accepts alternative evidence of age when residents do not respond, and keeps summaries of each survey in its records. A summary of the occupancy survey results must be made available for public inspection, and that is the document to ask for before you write an offer. The facility must comply with the rules issued by HUD for verification of occupancy through reliable surveys and affidavits, as the City of Canton's HOPA summary states.
Two points decide most household-composition questions:
- The law does not restrict the ages of the other occupants in units counted toward the 80 percent. Under the federal rule at 24 CFR Part 100 Subpart E, each housing facility or community may determine the age restriction, if any, for units not occupied by at least one person 55 or older. Your community's recorded documents, not the statute, set the floor for a spouse or an adult child.
- HOPA sets a minimum. An association may enforce a stricter age restriction than the federal minimum as drafted in its governing documents, so read the declaration before you assume the federal number applies to you.
If a community fails any one of the prongs, it loses the exemption and becomes subject to the Fair Housing Act's full familial status protections, meaning it can no longer maintain age restrictions.
One more situation worth planning for. A person who inherits a home in a 55+ community generally cannot simply move in if they are under 55, but can almost always sell it to another qualifying buyer.
HOA fees, amenity access, and the financial condition of the association
Arizona law caps what an association may charge you at the transfer, and it sets the clock on disclosure. Under A.R.S. § 33-1806, a planned community association may charge a member a capped aggregate fee for preparing and delivering resale disclosure documents, lien estoppel, and other services related to the transfer or use of the property, plus a capped rush fee when rush services must be performed within 72 hours of the request, and a capped document update fee when enough time has passed since the original disclosure statement. Those fees may be collected no earlier than close of escrow and may be charged only once per transaction, and an association that charges a fee in violation of the section is subject to a civil penalty.
The resale package under A.R.S. § 33-1806 includes the CC&Rs, bylaws and rules, a dated statement of assessments and amounts currently due, insurance and reserve information, pending-litigation disclosure, the current operating budget, and the most recent annual financial report. In planned communities with fewer than fifty units the seller delivers that information to the purchaser within ten days after receiving written notice of a pending sale; in communities with fifty or more units the association delivers it within ten days. A purchaser or seller damaged by a failure to disclose the required information may pursue all remedies at law or in equity, including recovery of reasonable attorney fees.
Read the reserve information first. The Arizona Planned Community Act does not mandate reserve studies, though many CC&Rs require them, and a reserve study every three to five years is treated as best practice against surprise special assessments. The Arizona Planned Communities Act, A.R.S. §§ 33-1801 to 33-1818, includes a cap on assessment increases, open meeting requirements, and board removal provisions.
Amenities are not decoration in an active adult community. Clubhouses, pools, and sports courts factor into resale value, with dues funding upkeep and reserve funds covering major repairs. When you tour, ask what the dues fund, what the reserve balance is, and what the association's most recent annual financial report shows.
Resale pricing and the buyer pool in age-restricted versus all-ages neighborhoods
The reported numbers in Surprise show the difference plainly. Sun City Grand had 217 active listings in May 2026, down 11.72% year over year, with a $439,450 median listing price, down 4.46% year over year, a $405,000 median sold price, down 11.96%, 71 days on market, which is the median time from listing to contract, and a 97% sale-to-list ratio. The reported median listing price exceeded the reported median sold price by $34,450 in that period. That gap is descriptive neighborhood context, not an appraisal and not an expected concession on any particular home.
Compare that with the all-ages neighborhoods in the same city. Asante showed 201 active listings in August 2026, down 21.82% year over year, a $550,000 median listing price, down 2.66%, a $515,000 median sold price, down 9.65%, 26 days on market, down 70.88%, and a 99% sale-to-list ratio. Sierra Montana showed 27 active listings in August 2026, down 24.32% year over year, a $427,500 median listing price, down 2.84%, a $420,000 median sold price, up 7.69%, 50 days on market, up 6.38%, and a 100% sale-to-list ratio. Marley Park's current 2026 snapshot showed 50 active listings, up 3.51% compared with the prior month and down 10.61% year over year, a $459,000 median listing price, down 3.87% year over year, and 77 days on market, up 40% year over year; the page does not display a precise calendar month for those values.
| Surprise neighborhood | Active listings | Median listing price | Median sold price | Days on market | Sale-to-list ratio | Reported period |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun City Grand | 217 | $439,450 | $405,000 | 71 | 97% | May 2026 |
| Marley Park | 50 | $459,000 | Not reported | 77 | Not reported | 2026 snapshot, month not stated |
| Sierra Montana | 27 | $427,500 | $420,000 | 50 | 100% | August 2026 |
| Asante | 201 | $550,000 | $515,000 | 26 | 99% | August 2026 |
Citywide, the RPR June 2026 single-family market report for Surprise showed a $425,000 median sold price, 1,268 active listings, 65 days on market, 3.88 months of supply, meaning it would take about that long to sell every home currently listed at the current pace, with six months generally considered balanced, and homes selling at 99.23% of asking price.
Why age-restricted resale behaves the way it does is not a mystery. Demand in an age-restricted community comes from a narrower pool of buyers who meet the age requirement rather than the full range of all buyers, which tends to produce fewer sharp booms and fewer sharp drops. A smaller, age-qualified buyer pool and, in some cases, higher HOA fees can slow appreciation compared with all-ages homes in the same area. Properties in 55+ communities may stay on the market longer because of the smaller buyer pool, which does not by itself indicate a lack of desirability. Pricing, condition, and location typically affect resale more than age qualification alone, and because homes in these communities are often smaller, purchase prices may be lower than for larger single-family homes elsewhere.
The local age profile is part of the buying pool math. Surprise had an estimated population of 175,304 on July 1, 2025, which was 22.5% above its April 1, 2020 estimates base.
Whether the community is finished or still being built
Build-out status changes both the rules and who controls them. Newly constructed housing for first occupancy after March 12, 1989 need not comply with the 80 percent requirement until at least 25 percent of the units are occupied, under the federal rule at 24 CFR Part 100 Subpart E. In a community still filling up, the age math you see today is not yet the age math the exemption requires.
Developer control has a defined end. Under A.R.S. § 33-1820, every declaration providing for declarant control must state a termination date or a method of calculating one, and declarant control in a planned community ends no later than the date the second-to-last lot is conveyed to a buyer. A.R.S. § 33-1817 governs how a declaration may be amended once declarant control has ended, or during declarant control with the declarant's written consent in each instance. Ask for the declaration language on both points, because it tells you when owners get the votes and how the rules you are buying under can change.
Rental restrictions and future sale flexibility
Arizona starts from the position that you may rent. Under A.R.S. § 33-1806.01, a member may use the property as a rental unless prohibited in the declaration, and must follow the declaration's rental time-period restrictions. The declaration is the controlling document, so read the rental article before you count on rental income.
Age qualification follows the tenant. A.R.S. § 33-1806.01 provides that if the planned community is an age-restricted community, the member, the member's agent, or the tenant must show a government-issued photo identification confirming that the tenant meets the community's age restrictions or requirements. The age requirement extends to your tenant, and at least one occupant of the rented home must be 55 or older, so a younger couple is not an option even for a short term.
What the association may ask for is limited. An association may not require disclosure of tenant information beyond the names and contact information of adult occupants, the lease time period including beginning and ending dates, and a description and license plate numbers of the tenants' vehicles. The association may charge a capped fee for the tenant-information disclosure, payable within fifteen days after the postmarked request, and that fee may be charged for each new tenancy but not for a lease renewal. An association may not impose on a member or managing agent a fee, assessment, penalty, or other charge above a statutory cap for incomplete or late tenant information.
Five questions I would put in writing to the association before the inspection period closes:
- Does the declaration prohibit rentals, and what minimum lease term does it impose?
- What is the community's age restriction as drafted, and does it exceed the federal 55 minimum?
- When was the last biennial occupancy survey, and may I see the summary?
- Does the community have a current reserve study, and what does the most recent annual financial report show?
- Has declarant control terminated, and if not, what termination date or method does the declaration state?
The Bottom Line
An age-restricted purchase in the West Valley is a documents purchase. The federal four-part test, the biennial occupancy survey, the recorded declaration, and the A.R.S. § 33-1806 resale package tell you what you can do with the home, who can live in it, who can rent it, and what the association can charge you. On the pricing side, Sun City Grand had 217 active listings, $405,000 median sold price, 71 days on market, and a 97% sale-to-list ratio in May 2026, while Surprise citywide had a $425,000 median sold price, 65 days on market, 3.88 months of supply, and 99.23% of asking price in June 2026. If you are pricing an offer in an age-restricted community, use the age-restricted comparables rather than the citywide ones, and read the reserve information before you remove contingencies.
If you are weighing a 55+ purchase in Surprise, Peoria, Goodyear, Litchfield Park, Buckeye, Glendale, or Avondale, reach out and our team will walk the declaration, the resale package, and the neighborhood numbers with you before you write an offer.
Written by Saul Perez, part of the Kristan Cole Network team.
Sources
Pages read on September 21, 2026.
- Library of Congress: S. Rept. 104-172
- eCFR :: 24 CFR Part 100 Subpart E -- Housing for Older Persons (ecfr.gov)
- Questions and Answers Concerning the Final Rule Implementing (hesperiaca.gov)
FAQ
Does everyone in the household have to be 55 or older in a 55+ community?
No. The federal definition of housing for older persons requires that 80 percent of occupied units be occupied by at least one person 55 or older, and the law does not restrict the ages of the other occupants in those units. Each housing facility or community may determine the age restriction, if any, for units not occupied by at least one person 55 or older, so the community's recorded declaration is what governs a younger spouse or adult child. An association may also enforce a stricter age restriction than the federal minimum if its governing documents say so.
How does a 55+ community prove it still qualifies for the age exemption?
It re-surveys its residents. HOPA requires a housing facility or community to re-survey its lists of residents every two years to ensure the 80 percent requirement is met, according to the City of Hesperia's published HOPA questions and answers, and a summary of the occupancy survey results must be made available for public inspection. Reliable age documentation includes a driver's license, birth certificate, passport, immigration card, military identification, another official document showing a birth date, or a signed certification by a household member age 18 or older that at least one person in the unit is 55 or older.
Can I rent out a home I buy in an Arizona 55+ community?
Under A.R.S. § 33-1806.01 a member may use the property as a rental unless prohibited in the declaration, and must follow the declaration's rental time-period restrictions. If the planned community is age restricted, the member, the member's agent, or the tenant must show a government-issued photo identification confirming the tenant meets the community's age restrictions. At least one occupant of the rented home must be 55 or older, so renting to a younger household is not available even temporarily.
Do homes in 55+ communities sell for less or take longer to sell?
In Surprise, Sun City Grand had a $405,000 median sold price, 71 days on market, and a 97% sale-to-list ratio as of May 2026, while Surprise citywide had a $425,000 median sold price, 65 days on market, and 99.23% of asking price as of June 2026. Properties in 55+ communities may stay on the market longer because of the smaller buyer pool, which does not by itself indicate a lack of desirability. Pricing, condition, and location typically affect resale more than age qualification alone.
What documents does the HOA have to give me when I buy a resale in a 55+ community in Arizona?
The resale package under A.R.S. § 33-1806 includes the CC&Rs, bylaws and rules, a dated statement of assessments and amounts currently due, insurance and reserve information, pending-litigation disclosure, the current operating budget, and the most recent annual financial report. In planned communities with fewer than fifty units the seller delivers the information to the purchaser within ten days after receiving written notice of a pending sale; in communities with fifty or more units the association delivers it within ten days. A purchaser or seller damaged by a failure to disclose that information may pursue all remedies at law or in equity, including recovery of reasonable attorney fees.
What happens if my child or someone under 55 inherits the home?
A person who inherits a home in a 55+ community generally cannot simply move in if they are under 55, but can almost always sell it to another qualifying buyer. The community's declaration controls the specifics, including any age restriction it sets for units not occupied by someone 55 or older. Read the declaration's age and occupancy articles before you buy so your estate plan matches the rules you are buying under.
